The right tool…

For a number of reasons I've recently decided to give Fedora a try.

I could explain you the reasons I decided to leave my previous distro, Ubuntu but I'll leave it for another time.

So, to make a long story short…

  • Installed Fedora Core 5;
  • Solved a package manager application problem (turn off);
  • Installed my PCMCIA UMTS card & Internet connection (another turn off, in Ubuntu it was a much less painful task);
  • Installed some extra packages;
  • Made some Windows / Linux integration stuff;
  • Browsed through other Fedora community websites (great stuff here);
  • Eventually ended up in the Red Hat Magazine

… where I found two great articles about my favorite (and indispensable) working tool, Eclipse, which apparently enjoys some appreciation in a part of the Linux community.

Because I'm a Linux enthusiast and also an Eclipse intensive user, I decided to point them out:

1. redhat.com | Introduction to Eclipse on Fedora:

Eclipse™ is a very popular open source, application-rich platform that is written in Java. The beauty of Eclipse is its extensibility and cross-platform compatibility. The Eclipse Software Development Kit (SDK) includes an extremely well-built Java® Integrated Development Environment (IDE) as well as a Plug-in Development Environment (PDE). "Plug-ins" are special-purpose software packages that can be installed into the Eclipse framework. For example, Red Hat's Eclipse Bugzilla plug-in integrates a Bugzilla interface into Eclipse.Through plug-ins, the Eclipse framework can be extended to almost any possible area of computing. Plug-ins exist for anything from J2EE development to embedded development to an office application suite.

Eclipse is developed largely on and for the Microsoft® Windows® platform, and even though other platforms–including GNU/Linux–are supported, there is no tight integration between Eclipse and those platforms. Moreover, Eclipse does not have integrated support for traditional open source development practices, and instead focuses mostly on Java development. Fortunately, Fedora Core 5 ships with an integrated Eclipse development environment based on Eclipse 3.1.2, making it possible for Eclipse to run smoothly on Linux.

This article describes the history of this effort, the current state of the platform, and some future plans.

2. redhat.com | Confessions of an Eclipse convert:

As a long-time Emacs™ user, and a typical command-line-oriented UNIX® person, I was skeptical when I first heard about Eclipse™, an extensible open source integrated development environment. Even when I was working to make Eclipse run when compiled with GNU gcj, I used it primarily as a smoke test for the compiler and GNU Classpath libraries.However, I saw quite a bit of Eclipse, and I frequently heard it described as the premiere open source integrated development environment, especially for Java. So, seeing that I work on GNU Classpath, which is mostly written in Java, I decided that I would give it a serious try.

The best way I could think of to do this was an experiment: for two weeks, do all of my Classpath work in Eclipse. (Naturally I wasn't so rash as to shut down Emacs–after all, that is where I read my email.)

0 Responses to “The right tool…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

My del.icio.us

For what it’s worth…


My blog is worth $1,693.62.
How much is your blog worth?

Blog Stats

  • 5,843 hits

