VoIP: A buzzword to be taken seriously

Some time ago I had a conversation with a friend who told me mobile phone networks where going to be forced to a paradigm shift.

They sell mainly voice services and this is quickly becoming obsolete. VoIP is the reason for this.

The tendency is that they’ll progressively transform into mobile ISPs. I have a GPRS / UMTS PCMCIA internet access card. Since I have a flat rate and (almost) broadband internet access, I’m able to use VoIP applications everywhere and make free calls (not to every networks, of course).

There’s one inconvenient. I’m not going to carry my laptop everywhere, the way I do with a mobile phone, leaving it always on. The solution is in applications like Skype for Pocket PC.

0 Responses to “VoIP: A buzzword to be taken seriously”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

My del.icio.us

For what it’s worth…


My blog is worth $1,693.62.
How much is your blog worth?

Blog Stats

  • 5,845 hits

