And Now for Something Completely Different…

No… This post isn't about Monty Python 😉

It's just about a cool website I found:
MAD SCI

It's educational and amusing but it has a downside: it's… well… there's no other way to put it… Plain ugly. It's a shame… Maybe it's the black background with the orange text, maybe not 😛

This makes me think:

There should be a network of volunteer Web Designers / Web Programmers / DBAs to help non profit projects make good websites / webapps.

I wouldn't mind participating in these kind of projects in my spare time. If there's one thing we've learned from OpenSource software is the value and quality that can emerge from collaborative free work.

All the tools to do this exist and are free:

It's funny how the subject diverged from my original intention…

1 Response to “And Now for Something Completely Different…”


  1. 1 Chad Edge January 23, 2006 at 9:42 pm

    You might want to take a gander at this: http://www.mikeindustries.com/blog/archive/2006/01/puget-bindery#comments

    I’ve posted some comments about just such a Web site (business?). I propose that visitors to the site post their critical reviews and URLS; next, staff at the Web site would strip/replace logos, company names, and contact data for dummy-text (logos would remain similar, just not w/ the co. name). This step would at least limit or reduce the amount of traffic that an offending domain would receive, as well as solicitations (pugetbindery.com exceeded their bandwidth because of the comments posted form the URL above). Next, the visitors would be able to submit their best 1-page redesign of the offending domain. The top-five voted submissions would be packaged alongside a cover letter and sent to the domain owner(s). The cover letter would include reference to the 5 submissions, along with the contact information of each designer.

    I’m getting more and more interested in doing this project; the more I read posts like yours, the more likely I’m going to be to start this. It would be an interesting way for designers to work in their field on some more ‘fun’ projects, all the while there being an underlying opportunity to make some money (if their submission was selected by the domain owner).

    My only reservations: hiding the identity of the offending domain, in order to keep solicitations and harassment to a minimum; ensuring that the users of the redesign project kept positive and intelligent.

    I think I know your opinion, but what do you think?


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

My del.icio.us

For what it’s worth…


My blog is worth $1,693.62.
How much is your blog worth?

Blog Stats

  • 5,843 hits

