I’m really starting to dislike disagree with Linus Torvalds…

The man did invent Linux but I sure don’t agree with him on this one. The “KDE vs. Gnome” war isn’t an issue anymore… KDE has it’s supporters and Gnome has it’s own. I have chosen my side a long time ago…

A GUI should be as intuitive as possible. That doesn’t mean everything should be stupidified to reach a broader audience and I really don’t think that’s what’s going on with Gnome… I really can’t think of enough arguments right now so I’m going to use a cliché:

Linus is probably referring to the KISS principle (“Keep it Simple, Stupid”). This sure isn’t a flattering expression and it can go straight to the misunderstood expressions list, side by side with “Free Software” 🙂

What Gnome really tries to do is (here goes the other cliché) “Making simple things easy, and difficult things possible” which at least in common sense sounds good, which has all to do with a necessary strictness in the choice of default options.

I personally just encourage people to switch to KDE. This “users are idiots, and are confused by functionality” mentality of Gnome is a disease. If you think your users are idiots, only idiots will use it. I don’t use Gnome, because in striving to be simple, it has long since reached the point where it simply doesn’t do what I need it to do. Please, just tell people to use KDE. Linus[Desktop_architects] Printing dialog and GNOME

Discussion follows here. Maybe someone has better arguments than mine.

2 Responses to “I’m really starting to <strike>dislike</strike> disagree with Linus Torvalds…”


  1. 1 Eu December 14, 2005 at 3:13 pm

    ‘That doesn’t mean everything should be stupidified to reach a broader audience.’

    That’s precisely Linus’s point! Why do you dislike him then??

    Either I didn’t understand your post or you didn’t understand Linus’s. I think the latter, because what Linus is saying is that most features that would confuse the users (i.e. difficult things) are removed, thereby making them impossible to do. So Linus is actually going against the KISS principle. He wants the power to do everything and he does not want features to be removed from the WM just because they might confuse users.

    Read his mails and change your post header, please..

  2. 2 pferreira December 14, 2005 at 4:15 pm

    By lapse, I didn’t complete the sentence you pointed to me… But I also recognize I didn’t read the whole text before commenting…

    This is one of those discussions in which it’s very difficult to be indifferent.

    I really think Gnome is far better than KDE in many aspects, hence the shock… But I don’t really dislike him… I just don’t agree with him… But I’m going to read the whole text and for now, change the title 😉


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

My del.icio.us

For what it’s worth…


My blog is worth $1,693.62.
How much is your blog worth?

Blog Stats

  • 5,845 hits

